If I raze a conquered city its territory returns to neutral ownership. However suppose I have multiple cities clustered together, it is not always possible to know which tiles I will lose when razing a city.

Since I am a relatively peaceful player I have not had the chance to experiment with this game mechanic.

So what are the rules which dictate which tiles belong to a particular city when it is razed?

  • While I don't have an answer, be aware that in the past I have lost a tile of my own after conquering and then razing a city which was immediately next to that tile. So razing a city seems to be able to remove tiles from you even if another city is actively working them.
    – Oak
    Nov 11, 2010 at 3:16
  • I'd assume that borders are simply recalculated based on a city's accumulated culture and the usual rules that govern border growth. This may rejiggle borders a bit, since tile acquisition preference depends on a lot of factors AFAIK. This is all entirely my assumption though. :)
    – deceze
    Nov 11, 2010 at 5:24
  • @Oak, this is very interresting. Are you sure that you were still working that tile in your original city and not in the razed one? I always thought that the tile ownership is declared by: 1. tile aquisition by culture or money 2. exchange of worked tiles between your cities.
    – Adj
    Nov 11, 2010 at 11:04
  • @Adj no, I cannot be sure. All I know is that I chose the "raze" option immediately. But as cities take at least one turn to get destroyed, it's possible the "governor" AI allocated a citizen on that tile (even though the city was rioting, so not much point there).
    – Oak
    Nov 11, 2010 at 11:07
  • 1
    @Adj I went ahead and created a new question for it, although I have a feeling that discovering the answer for it may also give us the answer to this question.
    – bwarner
    Nov 11, 2010 at 16:08

1 Answer 1


So based on Fabian's answer here combined with Oak's experience mentioned in the comments for this question, it sounds like razing a city will cause all tiles that were acquired by that city to become neutral, as well as all tiles in the immediate ring around that city, even if those tiles were not initially acquired by the city being razed (beacuse as Fabian pointed out, building/capturing a city will automatically transfer ownership of tiles in that inner ring that belong to other cities of the same player to the "new" city). Any tiles in the inner ring that do not belong to the player owning the city should not become neutral.

Unfortunately, I am not aware of any way to determine ahead of time which city initially acquired a tile and thus "owns" it for purposes such as this.

  • There is an exception to this when claiming land using a Great General's Citidel. Any land claimed and added to one of your neighbouring cities, in the inner ring of a city you conquer and then raze will also become neutral.
    – Metalshark
    Aug 21, 2013 at 20:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .