On the multiplayer scoreboard, some number ranks display in colors (red, blue, green) as opposed to white (like me). Also there aren't three-digit numbers, but there are medals (wings?) that also come in colors. I can surmise that the wings represent level 100 and the colors represent "prestige-ing." I don't remember this from Gears at launch. What's the deal?

1 Answer 1


The coloured ranks were introduced as part of the Fenix Rising DLC.

The Re-Up System allows players that have reached level 100 "re-up" for another tour of duty, which resets experience and rank, however, other progress in the game will be saved.

Players can "re-up" up to three times, the different colours represent how many times a player has done this. The levels are as follows (in ascending order of prestige):

  • Red
  • Green
  • Gold

There are also achievements associated with choosing to re-up (Time to Re-up! and Again!), as well as unique weapon skins.

More information can be found on the Gears of War wikia page, if you're interested.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .