7

I've seen Draven's Whirling Death will achieve a third hit if you flash over your ult to change its course to hit the enemy a third time. A variant with Blitzcrank can be seen here and the usage of 'teleport' here

(Active): Draven hurls two massive axes in a given direction, dealing physical damage to every unit struck. Upon reaching the edge of the map, striking an enemy champion or upon the reactivation of Whirling Death, the axes will slowly come to a stop before changing direction and returning to Draven

Ahri's Q is another out-and-back ability similar to Draven's ult.

(Active) Ahri sends out and pulls back her orb, dealing magic damage on the way out and true damage on the way back.

My question is, if you are able to flash over your enemy with Orb of Deception in flight, causing it to change direction, will it hit a third time? Will it deal magic or true damage on the third hit?

  • 4
    Good question. It would be almost impossible to pull off because flash has a relatively short range now and you will have to be close to your opponent but at the same time wait until the last moment because the ball (for ahri) will have to be returning and to have already hit him on its way back which will practically mean it will be really close to you when you flash. but if its valid then it means double true damage for ahri.. :O – Panagiotis Palladinos Jul 18 '13 at 8:55
  • Not to be a spoil, but can you post any solid evidence of that? All I found after googling was rather questionable evidence. Besides, if Draven/Ahri can flash to make their skills hit 3 times, then the opponent in question should also be able to flash for a third hit, which is MUCH easier to accomplish and should really happen on a regular basis even in real games. I tend to not believe this until I see it, because all these skills are programmed to hit only the intended number of times. For example you can't get hit twice by Ezreal ult by flashing into it again. – Hackworth Jul 18 '13 at 11:47
  • @Hackworth But that is not question, if for example the enemy gets hit, then gets hit on the return and then flashes for another hit the 2 last ones will be true damage. The question here is when he flashes the direction the orb is flying essentially changes direction. It might be that the code sais that forwards hit is normal and backwards hit is true damage, then it could be normal, true, normal. Or if it just takes the return that it would be normal, true, true. – Lyrion Jul 18 '13 at 12:05
  • 1
    @Hackworth desperation posted a question, not a fact. So you can't really ask for solid evidence when solid evidence is what desperation seeks in the first place... :S It's an interesting thought nevertheless. Ezeals Ultimate is a very fast projectile. I'm not sure you can flash in time to actually get hit a second time. an easier-to-test trick would be to get Teleport - Make an Ezreal shoot you in the face near his base with his ult and then teleport back to your base and wait for his ultimate to hit you a second time. THAT would be an easy test to see if you can get hit a second time by it. – Panagiotis Palladinos Jul 18 '13 at 12:18
  • 1
    @Hackworth,edited my question with the video link. – sight ward Jul 18 '13 at 12:43
6

It is not possible for an ability to hit more often than it was designed to - if it does, it's a bug.

As you can see in this video, Ezreal's ult can hit the same target only once. Another example would be Veigar's Even Horizon - if the target manages to break the stun quickly enough to walk through the same Event Horizon, he will not be stunned again. Accordingly, it should be impossible to be hit more than twice by returning projectile abilities such as Ahri's Q, Sivir's Q, or Draven's ult.

  • I know for a fact that Sivir's Q only hits twice even if you perform fancy tricks with flash and such. I have to imagine other similar abilities work the same way. – Invader Skoodge Jul 18 '13 at 16:31
  • I just tested Ezreal's ult and it can't in fact hit more than once. So since it doesn't say anything in the description (about hitting only once) and judging from riots policies so far I suppose its a general rule. So I agree 100% with Hackworth. – Panagiotis Palladinos Jul 18 '13 at 16:44
  • @StrixVaria That is because Sivir's Q description sais : Sivir hurls her crossblade to a target location, which then returns to her. Enemies in its path take physical damage, with 20% reduced damage to each subsequent target. Each enemy can be damaged only twice. The others don't say that, Ezreals sais that it does damage to the players it passes through so I would guess once it passes through it doesn't count anymore. EZ's ult is also different in the fact that it doesn't come back, so 2 times damage would never be implemented for the spell. – Lyrion Jul 19 '13 at 6:31
  • @Lyrion The ability to hit twice would probably be the default behavior, rather than something unusual, just because it's easier to code that way. One thing Ezreal and Sivir do is reduce the damage depending on the number of enemies hit, so the spells already need to track hits in some way. – Sconibulus Jul 19 '13 at 11:37
1

It will do true damage as the orb is on its way back, you just change the position where YOU are, but its still on the way to you. The number of hits has nothing to do with the kind of damge it deals, only the direction it is heading.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.