My question is, once I beat the warrior should I do all the sidequests in Normal before starting TVHM or should I go right to TVHM once it becomes available?

I just bought the game and have been playing with some friends who are higher level than me so that we could enjoy the Tiny Tina DLC together. As a result, I leveled up pretty fast without doing much of the main story quest or side quests.

Now I'm a level 32 commando and haven't finished the main storyline in normal (Just finished "Where angels fear to treat Pt 2"). I get almost no XP from kills on missions. I still have tons of sidequests. I imagine some of them might give good loot, or be fun to play. It it better to go to Playthrough 2 or should i do the sidequests in Normal first?

EDIT: changed question title and some wording for clarity

  • This other question may help you.
    – Sadly Not
    Jul 18, 2013 at 17:11
  • 2
    Which question are you asking? How long it takes to get to 50? Or if you should do TVHM after finishing the first playthrough?
    – Frank
    Jul 18, 2013 at 17:11
  • As long as you need, depending on your play style
    – user28015
    Jul 18, 2013 at 17:27
  • Related, perhaps dupe: gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/85645/…. It doesn't list around what level Playthrough 2 starts at, but I believe it's ~35 or so.
    – Frank
    Jul 18, 2013 at 17:40
  • @fbueckert my question is asking if it's more beneficial to do side quests in normal vs starting playthrough 2 (TVHM).
    – FistOfFury
    Jul 18, 2013 at 17:48

1 Answer 1


Thanks to the comments to my question above, I think the question has been answered.

Playthrough 1 sidequests don't adjust to your level after beating the warrior. So it doesn't make sense to go back to sidequests in Normal since enemies and quests will be too low level. (As per @fbueckert)

DLC quests do scale so it does make sense to do these quests in playthrough 1 (Normal) mode before heading to Playthrough 2 (TVHM). (As per @Reafexus)

  • 1
    They max out at either 35 or 38 or something like that. (And only the post game ones). Scarlet and Torgue DLC's are mid game DLC's and stop before level 30. I don't remember the exact levels though.
    – Reafexus
    Jul 19, 2013 at 15:22

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .