In New Leaf, your character can make designs and display them on the ground to create "pathways". If a character puts down pathways and then you delete that character, will pathways still be there?
My educated guess is no, they will not stay. According to this forum thread if you overwrite a design everything that uses that design will be changed to the new design. I would imagine deleting a character would have the same effect of overwriting those designs with 'nothing'.
After testing it I can confirm that any designs placed by the deleted character are removed.
This is still true even if another character has the same design in the same slot. I had the temporary character place a design that both characters happen to have and it still got deleted.