I've never played Diablo 2 before. If I beat the game and then restart on a harder difficulty, will I be reusing the character from my first round through the game or making a new one?

2 Answers 2


Every character has to go through the game modes on its own. Every character starts in normal, once that is beaten can then enter nightmare with all his gear and levels intact. After beating nightmare you can enter hell.

All the difficulties contain the same monsters/areas/quests. The map will have a different layout, but blood raven will always be there. Just as the countess. And all the other bosses. Monsters do NOT scale to your level at all. They get extra immunities/resistances in higher difficulties. (for example fallen are immune to fire damage in hell)

If you somehow get a level 1 character into nightmare or hell he will be one hit killed by everything.

  • 4
    @ColeBusby story progression was never tied to your account. It would even be stupid to even allow a lvl 1 in hell. He can't use any of the items from the shops, can't afford them, can't equip them and can't kill anything out of town.
    – Arperum
    Sep 12, 2013 at 22:31
  • @ColeBusby you could never jump a char straight to hell without doing the quests, hence the need for rushes. However, its possib;e to be a very low level in hell so you can leech xp super fast in places like chaos sanctuary
    – l I
    Sep 12, 2013 at 22:44
  • @arperum what's the current game version? My knowledge was from 2004&6 when I last played.
    – Cole Busby
    Sep 13, 2013 at 21:42
  • @ColeBusby My knowledge is from years ago too, from around patch 1.11 at latest or something. After that i went into mods.
    – Arperum
    Sep 13, 2013 at 22:34
  • @Arperum To the best of my knowledge, Fallen and all related monsters have always been immune to Fire damage in Hell. The Act V “guest” Fallen may be immune to cold (the shamans shoot glacial blast instead of fire bolt anyway), but those are an exception.
    – KRyan
    Dec 9, 2013 at 6:17

yes, you will.

But don't forget that there are some "penalties" in higher difficulties. In Nightmare you will get -40% to all resistances and in Hell it will be -100%.

Also don't forget that the levels of the monsters are higher in higher difficulties. For example, a Pit Lord will have level 27 in Normal difficulty and level 83 in Hell. Also it's hit points will grow from 200-ish to 9-14k-ish.

And if you hack you character or if you play online, you can even get a level 1 character in Hell. In this case I'd recommend you joining public Chaos Sanctuary runs till level 20, then public Cow Level runs till 25, then again Chaos Sanctuary runs till 60, then do Ancients quest in Hell and level up in public Baal runs.

Source: level 99 Battle.Net paladin

  • forgot to add: to get a level 1 character in Hell you will have to find a person and a gater (unless you are playing classic where gaters are not needed).
    – Novarg
    Sep 13, 2013 at 0:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .