In the new server.properties file, there is a line called op-permission-level, which is set to 4 by default. What does it do?

1 Answer 1


According to the Minecraft Wiki:

Sets permission level for ops.

Each level grants additional privileges over previous (lower levels)

  1. Ops can bypass spawn protection. No commands are assigned for this level.
  2. Ops can use /clear, /difficulty, /effect, /gamemode, /gamerule, /give, /summon, /setblock and /tp, and can edit command blocks. (Single player cheating)
  3. Ops can use /ban, /deop, /whitelist, /kick, and /op. (Multiplayer management)
  4. Ops can use /stop, /save, /save-all. (Server management)

4 is the highest OP level, and a level 4 operator can use all the commands from levels 1 to 3.

As said in the comments, for small servers, you probably want to your ops to be level 3.

  • so lvl 3 is what you want mostly, but using stop (which shuts down the server) can be useful if you got a ton of griefers and need to get rid of them Commented Nov 3, 2013 at 1:47
  • For small servers, ops shouldn't even need level 3 (although kick is useful). That stuff should generally be handled by the admin anyways (which is typically an op as well).
    – MBraedley
    Commented Nov 3, 2013 at 3:19
  • I would personal give any op the level 3. The rest of commands the admin will use, can be done it the server panel.
    – user65772
    Commented Jan 3, 2014 at 22:52
  • I know this is an old question, but does a level 3 op have the abilities from level 1 and 2? Or do they have the abilities from 4 instead? I want my ops to have the ability to ban and kick people, but don't want them to change gamemodes, summon, or use command blocks.
    – Kenny
    Commented Aug 20, 2015 at 21:18
  • 1
    @Kenny I did some extra research, and updated the answer accordingly.
    – user28379
    Commented Aug 25, 2015 at 12:35

You must log in to answer this question.