Let's suppose that, at the beginning of my turn, Alarm-o-Bot (previously played) is exchanged with a creature in my hand, having an "at the beginning of your turn..." ability. Does the latter ability take place? Or my turn is no longer considered to be "at the beginning"?

As an example, let's suppose that Alarm-o-Bot is exchanged with a Doomsayer. Are all the minions instantly destroied?



Thank you.

1 Answer 1


Short answer is no. I like to reference Magic the Gathering (MTG) in regards to this, because Hearthstone basically uses the stack like MTG, but it's rarely relevant, only with situations like this.

So the explanation for this is that, at the start of your turn, the game checks and queues up all 'start of turn' effects on the battle field, putting them on the stack based on the order the cards entered the battlefield. Then, the game goes through one by one and resolves each of the effects, not checking for any new effects. Then the turn progresses to the next step; drawing a card.

If you think about the situation you describe, if the game was coded like that and if you had an Alarm-o-bot in play, and the only minion in your hand was another Alarm-o-bot, the two Alarm-o-bots would try and infinitely swap with each other, completely breaking the game. So, unfortunately for you, your doomsayer will still take a turn to activate.

See the third answer by the Hearthstone Community Manager HERE for confirmation.

  • @ChaseC I'm a Mtg rules advisor, so a lot of that knowledge transfers over well to understanding Hearthstone XD There's a lot of seemingly silly complex interactions.
    – Waterseas
    Commented May 19, 2014 at 16:42
  • Are you really? That's really interesting. I don't meet a lot of rule advisers. I learn new interactions all the time, as they are silly, like you say. I.E. - Killing Sylvannas with Cairn, Sylvannas doesn't take control over the 2nd Cairn that spawns when he dies. I think that's really silly.
    – FoxMcCloud
    Commented May 19, 2014 at 16:55
  • Meh, it's actually not THAT rare honestly, lol, have a few friends who are rules Advisors too. In regards to the sylvannas cairn, I believe that's one of those situations where timestamp matters, where it depends on which one entered play first. At the very least, it should be, though, of course, it's hearthstone, so it might be buggy. See here: gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/163137/…
    – Waterseas
    Commented May 19, 2014 at 17:45
  • 1
    Thank you so much for your response, Waterseas, and +1 indeed. That's what I supposed, but you confirmed it greatly.
    – Andrea
    Commented May 19, 2014 at 18:58
  • 2
    @Autar That makes sense, although honestly was a very counter-intuitive way of them designing the process.
    – Waterseas
    Commented May 21, 2014 at 14:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .