25

I am currently running a Minecraft server, and when I leave and rejoin to check if my stuff is still there, it is.

What happens when I close the server? Does it matter if I just use the x button on the window? Is anything lost or does it save before closing?

0

2 Answers 2

37

Everything will be saved and shut down when you close your Minecraft server with the X button - nothing will be lost. If you want to feel extra safe, however, simply type stop into the command bar (or /stop into the chat window) to bring it to a graceful halt.

4
  • 14
    You could even use the save-all command before stop to force a full save of game data.
    – astryad
    Apr 12, 2011 at 9:52
  • 1
    I have had issues with closing it without typing in stop. Apr 13, 2011 at 4:35
  • 11
    @AttackingHobo could you elaborate?
    – Keaanu
    Apr 13, 2011 at 13:36
  • is there any countdown command? Dec 1, 2021 at 5:49
5

This is a very old question but I will answer to avoid anyone making the same mistake I did: DON'T just close your Minecraft server with the x button, you might lose the the last changes you made to your world. Minecraft's server has an autosave feature that triggers once in a while, if you just kill the server process you might lose the last changes. ALWAYS use the /stop command before quitting the server.

1
  • 1
    Agree 100%. My world running on Bedrock server 1.19.1.01 for Windows got badly corrupted (two chunks missing around where I was building), due to me just killing the window running the server. I've subsequently found the "stop" command, and will be using that religiously going forward. Just closing the window via the [X] will work most of the time... until it doesn't! Jun 21 at 0:39

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .