I always start my steam with "Automatically sign into Friends when I start Steam" disabled.
It seems to work — people can't see if I'm online. But when I check the profiles of my steam buddies, there I can find myself and the time when I was "Online last time".
There the last time is always set to the time when I logged into my account. I don't like it — how to disable this?