22

Kezan Mystic has some specific interactions to avoid breaking some rules of Hearthstone:

  1. If both you and your opponent have some of the same secrets in play, Kezan Mystic will always steal a secret you don't already have.
  2. If you already have all of the secrets your opponent has, she will destroy a random one of theirs instead of stealing.
  3. If you already have five secrets in play, she will destroy a secret instead of stealing.

In the situation in which you have 5 secrets and your opponent has some that you already have and some that you do not have, will Kezan Mystic always destroy one that you don't have (using a combination of rule 1 and rule 3)?

For example, let's say I have secrets [A, B, C, D, E] and my opponent has secrets [A, B, F, G]. When I play Kezan Mystic, am I guaranteed to destroy either F or G? Or is there a chance she will destroy A or B (which I already have)?

Kezan Mystic

3

I just tested this in a duel. I had ice barrier, ice block, effigy, mirror entity, vaporize. Science partner had ice block, effigy, mirror entity, vaporize, counterspell. I played mystic, vaporize destroyed.

So it looks like it picks one at random to destroy.

-1

This question is very popular. So I came back to edit my existing answer with one that truly answers the question.

This excerpt is taken from this page and it states:

Kezan Mystic's Battlecry will attempt to steal an enemy Secret. If the randomly selected Secret is the same as one the controlling player already has active, the Mystic will attempt to pick another.1 If there are no Secrets the player does not already have active, the Mystic will instead destroy a random Secret.

The page goes on to say that if you already have 5, it destroys a secret instead.

The first part of her battlecry goes off first, as it's the first part of her battlecry. So she will select one that you don't own. So in your case, you are guaranteed to destroy F or G.

  • Your source is just big bold text that says "Source".. – BlueRaja - Danny Pflughoeft May 7 '15 at 19:50
  • 3
    @ChaseC Neither the video nor the wiki confirm that specifically F or G will be destroyed. They both just confirm rule 3 is true, which we already know to be the case. I highly doubt the rule 1 and rule 3 combination has even been tested. – Waterseas May 7 '15 at 20:20
  • 4
    @ChaseC No it's not. The question is: "For example, let's say I have secrets [A, B, C, D, E] and my opponent has secrets [A, B, F, G]. When I play Kezan Mystic, am I guaranteed to destroy either F or G? Or is there a chance she will destroy A or B (which I already have)?" The question you're answer is 'is Rule 3 true?'. The question being asked is 'How do Rule 1 and Rule 3 interact?'. – Waterseas May 7 '15 at 20:23
  • 2
    @ChaseC I disagree. Again, how do we know it doesn't start by checking the number of secrets you own? I'm of the opinion this question can't be answered accurately until someone actually takes the time to test this. – Waterseas May 7 '15 at 20:56
  • 1
    @timelord that's because the rules of the mystic are in the question. I am simply putting her battlecry in order of which they happen for better clarification of what happens when this situation occurs. – FoxMcCloud Oct 30 '15 at 22:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.