I am wondering if anybody has figured out the difficulty jumps in the New Game+.

  1. Is there a certain amount of restarts/"pluses" where difficulty stops increasing?
  2. Also, If it is known, just how much do the enemy stats grow with each NG+? I feel like on NG+ (first NG+) enemies were dealing double the damage.

According to http://bloodborne.wiki.fextralife.com/New+Game+Plus a user (ublug) has found that blood echo drops from bosses scale according to the following:

ng++ = 10% more than ng+
ng+3 = 25% more than ng+
ng+4 = 50% more than ng+
ng+5 = 100% more than ng+
ng+6 = 150% more than ng+

I was unable to find any other quantitative evidence about scaling between the levels.

One may try to extrapolate from this data that enemies will be 10% harder to kill and will deal 10% more damage on ng++ compared to ng+. A similar approach could be taken by estimating boss health at each level of ng+ to estimate the scaling, but this does not seem entirely correct.

If we look at the design of Dark Souls 1, we see the following http://darksouls.wikidot.com/new-game-plus

A single formula cannot be applied to the increase in enemy HP and Souls between NG and NG+. This is because they increase by inconsistent amounts, usually corresponding to the location. In NG+, enemy HP is usually between roughly 1.5x to 2.5x of NG values, while souls dropped are usually between 2x to 5x NG values. There are exceptions.

There is likely a similar system in place for Bloodborne.

Dark Souls 1 also featured a cap in difficulty upon restarting:

After the seventh playthrough is completed, the game will no longer increase in difficulty after it restarts. NG+7 and any subsequent playthroughs are a repeat of NG+6. It is a common misconception that NG+7 is the highest difficulty.

The same cap existed in Dark Souls 2.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.