Somebody told me that if I travel too far from my house, it will disappear (possibly with my treasury). Is it true? Will the chunk change if I travel too far? I travelled across tens of thousands of blocks and the house was still there, but I don't know if it will change with being millions of blocks away. If it does, can I preserve the house with a map?


No, the chunk will not change, the person probably tricked you.


No, Chunks will not get changed, only unload, which might have been what was meant. It basically means that say you had a furnace burning 16 iron ore. If you go far enough away the chunk will unload and the furnace will stop smelting until you load the chunk again, then it will continue. :)

  • 2
    I observed that with my crops. I got away for a long time,and when I returned,they were not completly grown. @Skye – John Jul 5 '15 at 10:19
  • 1
    It's basically because the more chunks you load the more RAM the game needs in order to run. That's why on modded servers Chunk/world/personal loaders are normally banned because of too many chunks being loaded and the lag involved. – Skye Jul 5 '15 at 12:26

They were most likely joking or misinformed. Chunks that you've visited are saved in the world's region files. Even if you walk across the whole world, the things you've built won't disappear. Enjoy exploring!

  • But it will work if I load a world on the same seed as other (I mean if chunks remain the same on different world with the same seed)? @tuxedoandex – John Jul 4 '15 at 11:45
  • @John If you use the same seed to make a new world, the new world will be just as it was before you ever set foot in it. A new one won't have anything that you've in the old world. – 2xedo Jul 4 '15 at 11:49
  • This time I mean just about chunks. If I have a natural cave at X=12000 Y=42 and Z=8000 (just an example),will it remain in the newer world? @tuxedoandex – John Jul 4 '15 at 11:53
  • 1
    @John Yes, it'll be in any world with the same seed. – 2xedo Jul 4 '15 at 11:56

I'm only aware of one very specific situation in which chunks are altered after being generated. Deep ocean biomes which have not been inhabited for more than three minutes may have ocean monuments spawn in them; the three-minute limit appears to exist specifically to prevent the "my house suddenly vanished" problem. Other than this, the game does not modify existing chunks by itself.

  • 1
    Based on the link, in addition to the three minute rule the chunk must have been generated before the version of minecraft which added the monuments. – IllusiveBrian Jul 5 '15 at 3:48
  • @Namfuak: It's not immediately clear to me that Minecraft actually stores that information. It does have per-chunk timestamps for saving, but that's probably not good enough. – Kevin Jul 5 '15 at 3:50
  • That page says that the chunk has a "V" tag, though the page claims it is that it is always set to 1. – IllusiveBrian Jul 5 '15 at 4:05
  • @namfuak: They may be checking for whether the tag exists. Older versions may not have had it. – Kevin Jul 5 '15 at 6:29


If you travel far enough that your coordinates overflow, newly generated chunks will overwrite original ones. You do have to travel insanely far though, even further than where the farlands were.

  • You might want to get a bit more specific about what "insanely far" and "further than the farlands" means. – Philipp Jul 4 '15 at 21:51
  • @Philipp now I can't find the exact numbers. The Wiki only mentions the limit from Beta 1.7 (X/Z ±34,359,738,368). – Quentin Jul 4 '15 at 21:57
  • @Philipp far lands were removed in beta 1.8 – angussidney Jul 5 '15 at 0:09
  • I think he's talking about an overwrite caused by integer overflow, nothing to do with the far lands issue. – Loren Pechtel Jul 5 '15 at 2:17
  • If it is an integer overflow issue, the limit would probably either be +2^31-1 | -2^31 or +2^63-1 | -2^63 depending on the size of the coordinate integer, so it would not be a practical problem for a person in survival (on top of the fact that you would have to travel 2^32 or 2^64 blocks total to overwrite a chunk you had already entered). – IllusiveBrian Jul 5 '15 at 3:51

No not unless someone or something destroys it.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.