In Hearthstone there are the two minion cards Baron Rivendare and Dreadsteed.

The Baron's ability is "Your minions trigger their Deathrattles twice" and the Dreadsteed has "Deathrattle: Summon a Dreadsteed."

Imagine the first player has both on the table. What happens if the second player kills both at the same time, say with a card which kills all minions?

Does the first player remain with one or two Dreadsteeds?

I read the answer to the question suggested in the first comment, but the situation is different here. There it were two cards with Deathrattle. Here is just one. Anyway the answer indicates that it relies on the order the cards were played. But I am not sure at all...

  • @JonathanDrapeau I actually don't think it is. This SHOULD be similar to how Cult Master and other cards do when they die, but it still might be different.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 16:17
  • @Waterseas Baron is an active effect it is not a triggered effect (i.e. no lightning bolt), so how cult master works is probably not very relevant. Also the way cult master works is not obviously consistent with how similar other cards work (i.e. armorsmith).
    – PVAL
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 18:46
  • @PVAL The comparison to Armorsmith doesn't actually make sense for how cult master works. Damage happens, then things that trigger from damage happening happen, then Death happens, then things that trigger from death happening happen. Which is why it would make sense that Baron wouldn't work in this case, but it still might.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 19:11
  • 1
    Recommended reading for all related questions would be this rulebook: hearthstone.gamepedia.com/…
    – freekvd
    Commented Sep 10, 2015 at 9:17

2 Answers 2


The simple answer to the question is that you get 1 Dreadstead back on the field.

Using your example, I'll use Twisting Nether as my board clear (Though any other board clear will have the same result).

Only the single deathrattle from the dreadstead will occur. Your Baron is not "alive" to trigger the deathrattle a second time.

The first set of pictures show Dreadstead played first. enter image description here enter image description here

This set shows Baron Rivendare played first. enter image description here enter image description here

As you can see in both cases, only the single deathrattle from each Dreadstead takes effect because there is no Baron alive to trigger the second one.

  • 1
    As I commented on the other answer, have you tested this?
    – Waterseas
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 18:06
  • 2
    Yes with a friend. Should have taken screenshots. I might when I get home from work later.
    – Sorean
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 18:37
  • 1
    Please do. Will incredibly strengthen your answer.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 18:37
  • 1
    Thanks Sorean! Your answer is much more precise and not just based on experiences. I changed the accepted answer to yours. I would have tested it myself, if I had a Dreadsteed...
    – Rob
    Commented Sep 4, 2015 at 8:15

For some minions, their effect does not trigger if they die.

For example, you have a Cult Master (draw a card when a friendly minion dies), and 4 different 1-health minions.

Your opponent (Paladin) plays consecration, killing all your minions.
Result: You draw no cards

If your opponent is a mage, and plays Arcane Explosion instead, all your minions but the Cult Master will die.
Result: You draw 4 cards (one for each minion)

Although I haven't had extensive experience with Baron Rivendare specifically, I assume this to apply similarly. Rivendare's power does not work when Rivendare dies.

EDIT Addition to the below comment thread

  • Deathrattle triggers when the minions die. Order of deathrattles = order of said minions being played. Deathrattles that summon minions do so after the current action has completed.
  • Triggered effects (lightning bolt) only trigger when the appropriate condition is met and the minion with this power does not die during the same action.
  • Active effects (no lightning bolt, e.g. Stormwind Champion or Dire Wolf Alpha) are always active and only deactivate after the minion with said power dies.

I'm not sure about Inspire, as I haven't seen too many inspire plays yet.
My expectation is that the Inspire action only triggers after the hero power is used (and its effect has applied). So the order of operation would be:

  1. Play inspire minion. ("Inspire: This minion gets +1 attack")
  2. Use hero power (let's say Mage)
  3. 1 damage done to target (from mage hero power)
  4. Minion gets +1 attack.

This would be analogous with how e.g. Lightwarden works. Their attack gain only occurs after the rest of the action has been resolved.

  • This would mean, that player 1 would be left with one Dreadsteed, no matter which card was played first, as the answer to the possible duplicate question gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/163137/… indicates.
    – Rob
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 12:50
  • Yes. What order the card was played in is only relevant to work out the order of Deathrattles. Baron Rivendare's power is not a deathrattle in and of itself, so that does not apply in this case.
    – Flater
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 12:53
  • This is what I guess, too. But what rule applies then?
    – Rob
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 12:55
  • 1
    The rule that triggered effects (the one with a lightning bolt on the minion portrait) do not apply if that minion dies during the same action.
    – Flater
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 12:56
  • 5
    Question. Has this actually been tested by anyone answering this? If no, then I would argue its possible this is not the correct answer.
    – Waterseas
    Commented Sep 3, 2015 at 16:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .