4

Minecraft won't update on my Apple iPad, so I thought that if I delete it and then reinstall it, the game will update. However, I don't want to lose my worlds.

Will my worlds remain if I reinstall it?

  • I'm on an ipad apple – Jennamcgirl Oct 2 '15 at 18:04
  • Edit your question to include that, then. – nine Oct 2 '15 at 18:05
  • Please don't include it in the title as that usually doesn't look nice. It would be much more useful to include it in the actual question body. Also, which iPad model? – nine Oct 2 '15 at 18:17
2

At least on iOS, deleting an app also deletes all its data, so deleting and reinstalling will delete your worlds.

0

There is a way to save your worlds to a computer. On your PC, download and install a program called IExplorer. Connect your device to the PC and open IExplorer. You will s e the files on your device, without a jailbreak.

Find the file in which the world is saved. It currently is something like appData > minecraft > minecraftWorlds. Find the FOLDER with the same name as your world that you want to save (notice they may not be in a specific order). Save this folder in a desirably location on your PC. You need to drag using your cursor to copy as there is not an actual button on right click.

Disconnect your device and resins tall minecraft. Then reconnect your device and move the file back (drag) into the world saves folder. You need to move the entire folder with nothing renamed.

Before you open any apps again make sure you disconnect your device. Then you will be able to get your world back.

This technique is useful for world backups and downloading and copying males between devices.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.