10

Suppose I have a card with a deathrattle, such as Cairne Bloodhoof. What happens if I use a card that gives a minion a deathrattle, Ancestral Spirit, to the minion?

I can see two possibilities:

  • The minion's deathrattle is replaced
  • The minion is given an additional deathrattle

2 Answers 2

10

From the Hearthstone Wiki: Minions may benefit from multiple Deathrattles at the same time.

In your example, Cairne's bloodrattle would go off first, summoning the 4/5 Baine. After that, Ancestral Spirit would resummon Cairne.

0
0

In addition to Kexlox' answer: there is already a minion with two deathrattles: Anub'arak. When it dies, it is returned to your hand and a 4/4 Nerubian is summoned. So if this minion has already two deathrattles, it can be expected that all minions can have multiple.

enter image description here

2
  • 22
    Isn't that just a single deathrattle with two effects? Dec 19, 2015 at 22:49
  • I suppose it might come down to semantics as it really has no bearing one way or the other, but I would definitely consider that a single Deathrattle effect as there is only a single "Deathrattle" keyword. There is no precedent for a card coming stock with two Deathrattle effects, likely because there is no appreciable difference whether it's two effects or one with multiple interactions.
    – Nathan K
    Jan 26, 2016 at 14:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .