6

I just recently completed a neutral run where I experimented seeing how the story would go on if I only killed certain characters (it was my second run, my first run was True Pacifist) and I ended up choosing to kill Flowey instead of letting him live. I planned to start a Genocide run after resetting the game, but Flowey was gone when i did. Flowey is basically the base for each story in undertale (pacifist and genocide) so I know I can't progress any further without him being here. I really just want to start anew and, without Flowey, I dont think I can access True Resets anymore. It may be possible if I did a genocide route, but then I'd have to fight Sans, and that would take FOREVER.

Basically, I am wondering if I can erase all my progress somehow. I heard that True Resets don't erase everything entirely, so is there another way? Please respond, Undertale is the only game I have that's any fun and I don't want to have to buy another game.

  • 6
    "I know I can't progress any further without him being here" - bad assumption. Just keep going. – user2357112 supports Monica Jan 28 '16 at 18:39
  • 1
    You can't do true pacifist your first run, unless you mean you did a neutral path and then true pacifist after a soft reset. Right? Trying clarify for my own purposes. – ChronoD Jun 11 '16 at 22:13
  • 1
    This is not a duplicate of the linked question. This question is asking about recovering from something that can't be done in a Genocide run (as you never fight any form of Flowey in Genocide), the linked question is asking about recovering from a Genocide run. – gatherer818 Mar 10 '19 at 13:53
  • You absolutely can do True Pacifist as your first run. It seems ChronoD is slightly confused about how to complete True Pacifist. – Corsaka Feb 18 at 12:53
1

Go to Users\yourusername\AppData\Local\ There should be a folder called "UNDERTALE". If you want to remove absolutely everything, delete that folder.

If you're playing on the Steam version, make sure you disable Steam Cloud for the game as well.

| improve this answer | |
  • Thank you- question: Will this disable saving? – Zooby Jan 23 '16 at 23:55
  • Nope. Deleting the folder just removes the save data, and disabling the Steam Cloud for the game only prevents Steam from restoring it. – robo126 Jan 24 '16 at 0:24
  • 1
    For anyone who doesn't have system files visible by default: windows key + R will open the run window, then entering %APPDATA% will open a folder below this and should help you get there. – DBS Jan 24 '16 at 0:27
7

He's still there, but you do miss some of his dialogue, as indicated in another answer. A True Reset isn't necessary to get him back, almost any reset will do - if Flowey survived your last run, he'll be at the beginning of your next one. If you killed him last time, of course, he won't confront you at the beginning of the game, because

he remembers your previous runs unless you do a True Reset, and is afraid to confront you because he can't Load his Savefile while you're around - and you freaking killed him!

Manipulating the save files is only necessary if you absolutely don't want to spend the time to complete the game again to get him back AND absolutely want to hear his dialogue early in the game. In Genocide, it might be worth it, as before you leave the Ruins he has one of only three voice-acted lines in the game if you qualify for Genocide when you go to leave.

| improve this answer | |
1

You can still get any ending without Flowey being present, though you will miss any dialog he would have before the final encounter with him.

A True Reset will be sufficient to restore Flowey's presence in future playthroughs. However, erasing the save data (as mentioned in the other answer) would get the same results faster.

| improve this answer | |
0

It worked once I deleted the .ini file, and, since I'm on Mac, I thought this might be useful for others:

  • Go to Finder. At the top you should see 'Go', click on that, and then click 'Go to folder'.
  • Copy and paste ~/Library/Application Support/com.tobyfox.undertale/ to that window.
  • Once there, you will find undertale.ini, so you can delete it.
| improve this answer | |

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.