In Europa Universalis IV republics only allow 20 provinces in states without penalties. Is there any sort of republic government where there is more than 20 province limit or anyway bypass it?

2 Answers 2


Only the merchant republic has this penalty. By the time you actually get to 20+ provinces as a merchant republic other forms should be available.

Further information: Republics on the wiki


Oligargic Republic is what you are looking for.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .