Based on the "super effective" and "not very effective" messages, it's obvious type [dis]advantages are implemented in Pokémon Go. However, I noticed immunities do not seem to be implemented (I hit a Pidgeot with the ground-type move Dig). Since originally posting this question, I've learned that the multipliers are different (1.25/0.8 vs the old 2/0.5), but still don't know about compounding [dis]advantages.

Do type [dis]advantages compound like in other Pokémon games, or is all [dis]advantage equal? E.g., will the damage Golbat (poison/flying) receives from a bug type attack be 0.8x, or will it be 0.64x? And will a Dragonite (dragon/flying) take 1.25x or 1.5625x damage from an ice type attack?

This answer claims that compounding [dis]advantages are not implemented, but my personal experience having a Golbat battle a much higher CP Pinsir made it feel as if they were (but that's hardly a confirmation).

Is there any information to indicate how thoroughly type [dis]advantages are implemented, since type immunities indicate this may differ from the games?

  • 1
    Damage taken x2 and Damage done x0.5 make it look like 1/4 without actually having it this way. You need to take that into account as well.
    – dly
    Jul 14 '16 at 12:53

Coming back to this, I realized that the answer I linked to in my question has since been updated to answer my question as well. I'll echo @Joakim Isoaho's answer here:

Through testing on the subreddit /r/TheSilphRoad, the answers to 1 and 2 are:

  • It uses a modified 6th Gen chart as evidenced by the Fairy and Steel types.
  • There are no 4x or 0x attacks, so Ground can hit Flying, and Normal can hit Ghost etc. -Values have been changed: -2x --> 1.25x -1/2x --> 0.85x As for 3, Same Type Attack Bonus (STAB) has been found in the game files to be 1.25x as well.

So, no, type [dis]advantages are not compounded. An Ice-type attack against a Dragonite (dragon/flying) gets the same bonus that it does against a Fearow (normal/flying).

  • so 4x --> 1.25x and 0.25x --> 0.8x?
    – scenia
    Aug 18 '16 at 14:07
  • @scenia Yes, that is correct. Aug 18 '16 at 15:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.