8

We just had a game where an enemy D.Va used her ult with six of us attackers on the point. Five of us ran away, while our Reaper stayed on the point using Wraith form. The Reaper never left the point (I have it on video, I triple-checked), but we lost anyways.

Everything I've read online suggests a Reaper in Wraith form can hold the point. Is this incorrect? Or has it changed at some point? Or was this just a bug?

2
  • 2
    From my own experience, Reaper can contest a point, but can never actually take the point in his Wraith form. I know it doesn't answer your question. I still have some questions myself about how his Wraith form works with points and I "main" him
    – bmarkham
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 3:18
  • 2
    Reaper's wraith form along with Mei's self-freeze both should contest points if they are on them. Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 4:04

3 Answers 3

5

Yes, but with a caveat.

Reaper (and Mei, to cover both immunities) can both contest points or payloads owned by the enemy. This is easily seen in most games, so I don't feel proof is necessary.

The caveat here, is that they cannot capture points. I did not test payloads, but I can safely assume the same logic is behind it.

Reaper using Wraith form on an unconstested (neutral) point.

Mei using Ice Block on an uncontested (neutral) point.

If necessary, I can also knock up some video evidence of trying to capture an enemy point while not contested, but I don't think there will be a difference.

==EDIT==

As per Blue-Raja's comment, I did further testing on the nature of Overtime and contesting versus capping. My results were fully in-line with the above evidence- both can contest a point and extend Overtime during the duration of their in-vulnerabilities, but neither can capture a point or move a cart in that time.

6
  • So a Reaper on a point in overtime will hold the point when you're on defenders, but not when you're on attackers? That's idiotic! Commented Jul 28, 2016 at 23:04
  • @BlueRaja-DannyPflughoeft A Reaper could hold the point during overtime on either side, but if he was attacking, he could not increase the capture % while in Wraith Form.
    – KizTrap
    Commented Jul 29, 2016 at 8:50
  • Are you sure? Did you test that? That conflicts with my experience. Commented Jul 29, 2016 at 15:27
  • I didn't specifically test Overtime, but I can do tonight and post another video
    – KizTrap
    Commented Jul 29, 2016 at 16:07
  • I've seen mei lose the point during overtime while in ice block on numbani
    – user126536
    Commented Jul 30, 2016 at 18:36
3

While not appearing to be the greatest of sources, it does appear that Reaper can contest points while in Wraith Form. It is not clear if he can capture points while using this ability, but I believe he can still move payloads while in Wraith Form.

As far as I can tell from sources and experience with the game, Mei can also contest a point while in her invulnerable Ice Form as well.

2
  • 1
    Mei can capture points while in Cryostasis. She can also stop or move payloads in it. Reaper- I'm not certain of as I play less of him than Mei, but I can't imagine there would be different rules. I can do some testing later if I remember.
    – KizTrap
    Commented Jul 27, 2016 at 16:01
  • I was mistaken regarding Mei. Posted an answer clarifying the capturing points, but from my experience, the Overwatch wiki doesn't contain that much disinformation. It's also a community page, so there's nothing stopping anyone from fixing false information :)
    – KizTrap
    Commented Jul 28, 2016 at 22:03
-5

(Yeah characters can't contest while invulnerable. In the case of Reaper I'm sure that it won't contest if he entered the point while being in wraith form. I suppose that he will stop contesting if he uses wraith form while on the point.) Surely a bug.

6
  • 2
    And how exactly are you sure of this? Because you've answered with false information, and without sourcing. If you can find a source that tells us that Reaper and Mei can't contest while invulnerable, then I'll take back what I've said. Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 13:23
  • Actually I tested it about 3 weeks ago. May be kinda outdated or could be a bug corrected.
    – Tono
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 14:10
  • 3
    Yes, and I've been testing it since game launch, and I can confirm that both Reaper and Mei can contest while invulnerable. Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 14:21
  • My bad then. I edit to let that appear.
    – Tono
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 14:29
  • I'm pretty sure this is intended behavior...
    – Unionhawk
    Commented Jul 25, 2016 at 15:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .