5

Say that I am battling a Pokémon, either a wild one or one owned by a trainer. If it uses the same move enough times (perhaps a Magikarp who keeps using Splash), is it possible for it to run out of PP and use Struggle?

I'm especially interested in third, fifth, and sixth generation because that's the ones I own, but information for all generations would be appreciated.

9

Yes, also your opponents do have PP. This means they will use Struggle if they run out their PP. Several people on Gamefaqs have seen a Legendary Pokemon hitting himself with Struggle after a long battle.

This is true for each generation, except for Gen I:

In Generation I, all AI opponents had unlimited PP.

Here's another related answer, for reference.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.