Hitman: Codename 47 and Hitman: Absolution don't, only checkpoints. I am specifically asking about the PC releases (games' console counterparts often have manual saving removed).
Games considered as part of the main series:

  • Hitman: Codename 47
  • Hitman 2: Silent Assassin
  • Hitman: Contracts
  • Hitman: Blood Money
  • Hitman: Absolution
  • Hitman (2016)
  • 2
    I disagree with the close votes. This is a set list of Hitman games, and it's only asking about a feature within these games (manual save). It's just the same as asking "which Hitman games have x weapon?" Oct 26, 2016 at 13:09

1 Answer 1


Based on Google searches and interpreting forum posts on the Steam forums and the official Hitman forums:

  • Codename 47 has a level-based checkpoint system: if you die, you need to restart the level.
  • Silent Assassin has a restricted save system: you can only save a limited amount of times per level, based on the difficulty: 7 on normal, 3 on expert and 0 on professional.
  • Contracts uses a similar system as as Silent Assassin. Note that there may be a bug on more modern systems where the game sometimes fails to properly save your game. A workaround that seems to work is to make your first save on normal difficulty. All saves after that work properly.
  • Blood Money has the same save system as Silent Assassin and Contracts.
  • Absolution has a checkpoint based system that autosaves based on your progress.
  • Hitman (2016) allows you to save freely.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .