I've amassed a huge pile of spent spellbooks (known spells that have been read and/or polypiled into uselessness), and know almost all the spells (still trying for Finger of Death). I've yet to get a marker, so I can't write any books to refresh many of my known spells. So I was wondering if I use Cancellation on the books prior to polypiling them, will they become readable again?


After testing a dozen or so times, it appears the answer is NO. So, polypiling spent spellbooks can only be used to attempt to get unknown/unidentified spellbooks. However, if you need several spells, you can write a low-level one, read it, and get 3 more poly attempts before it is spent, too.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.