5

To use Genesis Supernova, a Pokémon must know the move Psychic and hold a Mewnium-Z crystal.

According to Bulbapedia,

Mew, or a Pokémon transformed into Mew, can use Genesis Supernova if it knows Psychic, holds Mewnium Z, and if its Trainer wears a Z-Ring. Mew cannot use Genesis Supernova if it is transformed into a Pokémon other than Mew.

Meanwhile, Ditto is one of three Pokémon that can learn Transform (and it only knows Transform), but it is incompatible with Mewnium-Z and cannot learn Psychic.

If this is the case, how can Ditto use Genesis Supernova?

2
  • 4
    Because it's a Ditto.
    – Frank
    Jul 12 '17 at 4:06
  • 1
    @Frank ...really?
    – JTR
    Jul 12 '17 at 4:08
11

There is some confusion about whether Ditto can hold the Mewnium-Z (or any exclusive Z-crystal, for that matter). Counter to what the game makes it seem like, you are 100% able to give Pokémon Z-crystals that they are incompatible with. Under normal circumstances, this just wouldn't do anything. For instance, here is my entire party holding Mewnium-Z.

Although a bit counterintuitive, you are able to do this, even in the face of the "Incompatible" warning:

z crystals

cant use

holds crystal anyways

for posterity

Therefore, a Ditto holding Mewnium-Z can use Genesis Supernova if it is transformed into a Mew that knows Psychic. Similarly, Ditto (or any other Pokémon with the ability to Transform) can use an exclusive Z-move of any Pokémon it is transformed into, as long as it is holding the appropriate Z-Crystal and the Pokémon it transformed into knows the correct move.

I found a video of someone proving this by having their Ditto transform into a Tapu Fini while holding Tapunium-Z and use Guardian of Alola.

Therefore, for a transformed Pokémon to use Genesis Supernova, they'd just need to be holding a Mewnium-Z and transform into a Mew that knows Psychic.

5
  • 1
    Using a Z-crystal on a Pokémon causes it to hold that Z-crystal.
    – Wrigglenite
    Jul 12 '17 at 16:49
  • @Vemonus so, using this logic, if we make some pokemon that knows Mimic to holding incompatible Z-Crystal and make the pokemon mimicking the move that compatible with Z-Crystal, then we can perform the Z-Move?
    – JTR
    Jul 13 '17 at 1:25
  • @JTR no, the exclusive Z-moves all seem to indicate the user must also be the correct species, so only that specific Pokémon or a different Pokémon transformed into it can use that Z-move. I guess it's worth mentioning that technically, Mew could use transform and use exclusive Z-moves just like Ditto.
    – Vemonus
    Jul 13 '17 at 1:27
  • @Vemonus oh okay, and how about the normal Z-Crystal? Is it work?
    – JTR
    Jul 13 '17 at 1:28
  • 2
    @JTR the typed Z-crystals can be equipped by any Pokémon as well, but won't work unless that Pokémon knows a move of the specific type.
    – Vemonus
    Jul 13 '17 at 1:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.