Rage has four difficulty levels:

  • Easy
  • Normal
  • Hard
  • Nightmare

What are the differences between them? Do they only affect enemy strength or do they also come into play in racing targets, number of enemies, etc.?

  • 1
    I'm beginning to wonder if there's much of any difference. Playing on Hard right now and even the fights seem pretty tame. – Doozer Blake Oct 11 '11 at 15:03
  • The AI seems stupid as hell, so I can imagine that if you avoid getting hit too much there shouldn't be too much difference – Ivo Flipse Oct 21 '11 at 8:49

The Rage wikia describes:

The enemies appear to have roughly the same amount of health on each level, but hit a lot harder and come in greater numbers as you increase the difficulty. Notable exceptions include the Large Mutants and Krakens, which seem to have lots more health, and the Authority Elite, which are basically tanks on Nightmare, requiring 3 or 4 Dynamite Bolt headshots.

Cars in the wasteland will also fight a lot more aggressively and use shields more frequently as you increase the difficulty.

Loot appears unaffected, apart from a Rocket Launcher in Kvasir's Sewer on Hard and Nightmare difficulty.

|improve this answer|||||
  • 1
    I'll just point out that I found that Rocket Launcher in Kvasir's sewer, and I'm playing on normal. – Aubergine Oct 22 '11 at 16:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.