Example Fire, Fira, Firaga, Firaja, ??? Has any source ever mention higher tier than -ja spells?

  • 1
    The -za level spells are next. Firaza, Blizzaza, and Thundaza. – Frank Feb 27 '18 at 4:42

Has any source ever mention higher tier than -ja spells

sorta. while Frank's comment sounds correct (not sure where i heard it but seems correct to me too) there is (as of 27/02/2018) actually no Thundaza, Firaza, Blizzaza or Waterza as all these pages on the wiki don't have pages to them, but if you replace the z with a j in their URLs you'll get the -ja level spells.

this is also backed up on the wikia's template for Black Magic Template where under reoccurring we only see up to the -ja level and infact -ja is the highest level (so it's not a matter of Frank just getting the suffix wrong, there's no magic after -ja)

But ofcause this is just for named spells following this pattern, if we consider -ja level spells as being Level 4 (Normal, -ra, -ga, -ja) then we do have Level 5 spells

  • in Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII Elemental Magic Materia is actually split between levels (unlike what it was in Final Fantasy VII where the Lighting Materia would grant Bolt 1-3).

    in Crisis Core you have the inital 3, Normal, -ra and -ga but after this the next most powerful Magic Material after -ga is Dark [Normal] (ie. Dark Thunder). these, just like their regular one, are split between Normal, -ra and -ga so Level 5 Magic where would be Dark -ra spells.

    it would also be noted that after Dark there is Hell -ga spells where they skip Normal and -ra so you go from Dark Thundaga to Hell Thundaga

    Source: Magic Materia (Crisis Core)

Also in Kingdom Hearts it was slightly inconsistent. while they did feature -za this was infact the 4th level and was sometimes also -gun but in later installements to the series -ja was used for the 4th level

The Kingdom Hearts series utilizes the tier system used from the Final Fantasy series to denote its levels of power with the same suffixes -ra and -ga for its spells. The exception is the fourth level, which tends to vary across the series, typically using -gun or -za, but later using -ja in later installments.

Source: Magic tier system > Non-Final Fantasy guest appearance > Kingdom Hearts series

  • 1
    I was using the Kingdom Hearts as reference, yes. – Frank Feb 27 '18 at 12:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.