3

Imagine, minion, say Raptor, with 2 health. I will use 2/2 notation to indicate the current/maximum health.

  • Raptor gets +3 health as a temporary buff, making it 5/5.
  • Then Raptor is damaged by 4, reducing it to 1/5.
  • Then Raptor is permanently buffed with +6, making it 7/11.

When (at the end of the turn) temp buff expires, per Advanced Rulebook, - enchantments are recalculated from scratch.

  • What does that mean in practice ?
  • That we will get 4/8 Raptor ? Or 7/8 ?
  • Why ?
5

Temporary health buffs also serve as a healing. Following this I would say it becomes a 7/8.

Here you can find someone complaining about this and also a good explanation by user OracleWawa.

He had a similar problem as you do. He had two damaged murlocs which got buffed by a warleader but upon removal of the warleader the murlocs did not drop back down in health.

This explains the interaction:

If an aura buff provider like Stormwind Champion or Murloc Warleader is on board and buffs a minion who wasn't at his full health (or you hit that minion down to like 2 HP and then remove Stormwind Champion from the board) the HP will stay the same. It's a thing you need to learn.

Basically minion's HP will increase when it's max HP increases too with any kind of way (Power Word: Shield, Stormwind Champion etc.), but if minion's max HP would be decreased but not below his current HP, his current HP won't change. And technically any HP buff, including aura minion buffs like Stormwind Champion are max HP buffs.

  • hmm.. interesting that it also applies to auras, like Murloc Warleader's – c69 Mar 16 '18 at 19:52
  • on a second read - no it just cannot be 7/11 - as that was the state before temporary +3 got removed. Do you mean 7/8 ? – c69 Mar 16 '18 at 19:55
  • 1
    Oops yes, my mistake. Wrote it from my phone. I'll edit it in. – AK_is_curious Mar 16 '18 at 23:22
  • Worth noting that Murloc Warleader got nerfed and isn't a good example of this anymore. Stormwind is! – Allball103 May 31 '18 at 11:55

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.