I will start playing Heartgold, but no trading will occur with outside of the game itself.

My goal, except from becoming the very best ( :) ), is to catch all the available Gen 1 & 2 Pokemon in this game, and evolve them as much as I can.

Do you know which these Pokemon are? I cannot find a concrete list while surfing the Internet..

2 Answers 2


All of generation 1 & 2 can be acquired in either HeartGold or SoulSilver. However, with just HeartGold some will be unavailable.

  • The 2 Johto and 2 Kanto starters (and their evolutions) that you didn't choose will be unavailable. You need to trade to get the ones you didn't select.
  • Vulpix, Ninetales, Meowth, Persian, Kabuto, Kabutops, Ledyba, Ledian, Skarmory, Tediursa, Ursaring and Delibird are unavailable, as they are SoulSilver exclusives.
  • Mew and Celebi are only available from giveaways, so it is unlikely you will be able to catch them.
  • Alakazam, Machamp, Golem, Gengar, Politoed, Slowking, Kingdra, Scizor, and Porygon 2 require trading to evolve. Steelix can still be encountered and caught without having to evolve Onix.
  • You can get all of Tyrogue and Eevee's evolutions by breeding them with a Ditto, so all 3 hitmons and all 5 eeveelutions are possible in one game.

This leaves a total of 35 unacquirable Pokémon. You can consider your Pokédex complete at 216.

Source for version exclusive lists: HeartGold/SoulSilver Version Exclusive Pokémon on Bulbapedia

  • Shouldn't the target number be 251 - 33 = 218 (and not 223)? I think you didn't count the eeveelutions? Also, I think that the uncatchable Pokemon are not 33, but 35, since you forgot to mention Teddiursa and it's evolution, Ursaring. So, the catchable Pokemon should be 216 then, don't you agree?
    – gsamaras
    Sep 5, 2020 at 15:54

The number of catchable Pokemon in Pokemon Heartgold is 216.

Studoku's answer is almost correct (see comments).

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .