I was poking around Pokémon Go and noticed the Pokédex Pokémon are in groups:

Pokédex Groups

What do these mean?


Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, and Sinnoh are the names of regions in the mainline Pokemon games. It's shorthand for which Pokemon belong to which generation (although there are some exceptions here and there).

  • Generation 1 (Red/Blue/Yellow) - Kanto
  • Generation 2 (Gold/Silver/Crystal) - Johto
  • Generation 3 (Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald) - Hoenn
  • Generation 4 (Diamond/Pearl/Platinum) - Sinnoh
  • 2
    And if you click the groups, it will auto-scroll to the first entry for that region – Wondercricket Mar 6 '19 at 19:35
  • bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Region You've also failed to mention the remakes: FireRed, LeafGreen, and Let's Go! Pikachu/Eevee occur in Kanto, HeartGold and SoulSilver occur in Johto, and Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire occur in Hoenn. – jpmc26 Mar 6 '19 at 20:01
  • 3
    @jpmc26 I didn't mention the remakes because remakes are typically in a different generation (Red/Blue are Gen 1 and FireRed/LeafGreen are Gen 3), they also usually don't add new Pokemon, and they don't introduce new regions (which is the salient part of this question). – Yuuki Mar 6 '19 at 20:04
  • If you're looking to emphasize the generations, I would add the generation numbers explicitly then. – jpmc26 Mar 6 '19 at 20:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.