10

When dual wielding, is there any penalty to the offhand weapon, whether of damage or attack speed? What about a spell equipped on that slot? Or is the dragonborn ambidextrous?

6

The Dragonborn is ambidexterous, but refuses to wield a shield in their right hand. Magic and weapons can be used in any combination of Right / Left, Left / Right, etc.

The Dual-Wield "penalty" as it were, is that you cannot block when dual-wielding. (Even though you could normally block with a single weapon if your offhand is free.)

2
  • 2
    He / She also wont poison weapons that are in the left hand.
    – DeanMc
    Nov 14 '11 at 18:47
  • 2
    @DeanMc that can be worked around, though, since you can poison a weapon, sheath it, equip another weapon, and poison that. It's not optimal, but it is an option. Nov 14 '11 at 20:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.