A friend of mine and I are playing mtg when he tried to counter my Crystaline Sliver with Final Reward. Is this a legal move?

  • 2
    Are you talking about the video game version, or just playing with cards? If cards, I would suggest asking this at Board & Card Games. Here, we only deal with video games, I'm afraid. – Frank Jun 25 '19 at 11:35

I assume your Sliver is already on the board.

Final Reward needs to target a creature on the board.

Crystaline Sliver's shroud ability makes it that your Slivers can't be targeted.

So because you can't target Slivers, you can't remove it with Final Reward.

If you want to remove the Sliver, you would need something that doesn't target (like a Wrath of God) or something that would target the player and force him to sacrifice something (like Diabolic Edict)

  • Thats what i thought as well. He played it as a counter and i didn't believe it was a legal move – Bdubz02 Jun 25 '19 at 15:09
  • Oh ... so the Sliver was still on the stack ? Then it doesn't work because it's not a creature YET, but a creature spell. This difference is important because many blue counterspells have clauses that makes them usable only in certain cases. See : Essence Scatter and Negate – Fana Jun 25 '19 at 15:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.