16

Given that the loading part is fast enough by itself, I have seen the intro video showing Bethesda enough by now. When launching the game I want to play as fast as possible, espectially when I quickly need to check something.

Is it possible to disable the intro video?

16

Yes, it is.

Go to your Skyrim folder. Inside this folder there should be a folder called "Data". Inside this folder should be a folder called "Video". Delete the video called: BGS_Logo.bik

It should be the only video inside the folder. I have also tested and verified this works (and doesn't break the game). It just puts you on the start menu where you can load or start a new game.

Possible locations, replace the path where applicable, check the (x86) folder on 64-bit systems.

  • %ProgramFiles%\Steam\SteamApps\Common\Skyrim\Data\Video\BGS_Logo.bik

  • %ProgramFiles%\The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim\Data\Video\BGS_Logo.bik

9
  • 2
    You should rename the video really, if you delete it you can't go back.
    – Tacroy
    Aug 9 '12 at 1:30
  • 1
    @Tacroy You can verify files in Steam and it'll restore them. In other words, you can redownload that and only that through Steam. Sep 4 '12 at 18:09
  • 1
    @crazysim Riiiiiiight, man, I keep on forgetting the wonders of living in the cloud...
    – Tacroy
    Sep 4 '12 at 18:20
  • 1
    @crazysim However that will probably cause Steam to also check all other files for corruption, effectively wasting a lot of processor time, especially compared to the little space the renamed video takes up
    – Zommuter
    Jul 3 '13 at 8:30
  • 1
    This does NOT work. Deleted the video from the skyrim data folder and the video still plays. it must be stored elsewhere.
    – user52020
    Jul 16 '13 at 23:09
9
  • Go to %USERPROFILE%\My Documents\My Games\Skyrim\ or C:\Users\<username>\My Documents\My Games\Skyrim
  • Open Skyrim.ini. Navigate to the [General] section.
  • Add the following line at the end of the section:
    sIntroSequence=
  • Save the file.

Source: PC Gaming Wiki, "Skyrim - Skip Intro"

1
  • 1
    This should be the top answer. Doesn't compromise the Skyrim data folder, only modifies user data.
    – oKtosiTe
    Jan 29 '18 at 22:29

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.