I play a breton so have some magical resistance. I gather that this resists all magic. So if I have 25% magic resistance and 25% frost resistance, do I actually have 50% frost resistance?


The two effects stack multiplicatavely, not additively, up to a maximum of 80%.

To use your example, you'd end up with 32% resistance.

  • Cheers, what is the formula?
    – DeanMc
    Nov 19 '11 at 20:52
  • @DeanMc multiplicative means Damage Input * (1-Resist Element%) = 1st aggregate. 1st aggregate * (1-Resist Magic%) = final result. Because they're being multiplied, the order is irrelevant, and they'll both return the same diminished result. Nov 19 '11 at 21:01
  • You mean 44.25% resistance? (.75)^2=56.25
    – DCShannon
    Feb 25 '16 at 5:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.