-1

I have a BungeeCord (Waterfall) server network. Well, that's besides the point. One of my friends built a bunch of stuff on a world. Later, I was cleaning up old backups. I thought I was deleting an old backup when I deleted the latest one. I have tried getting that region's MCA file back using recovery software (DMDE). I found a lot of different versions of the same file from different times. I went through each one and none of them were the right one. BUT, I heard chunks might be saved client side here: ...do all the members in the server save a local copy...?. Is this true? Is there any way I might be able to get my save back?

2
  • 1
    That is only partially true: clients cache a copy of some chunks, but certainly not the entire world.
    – Schism
    Apr 20 at 1:02
  • @Schism So, how would my friend possibly get any of these chunks? Are they stored somewhere? Apr 20 at 1:59

1 Answer 1

7
+50

This is why backup, Backup, and BACKUP!!!!

AND ALSO DON'T DELETE YOUR BACKUPS

Unfortunately, unless you have a backup, you can't get your files back. I also did the same thing by opening a 1.18+ world in 1.17.

You can restore it simply by either dragging world from your backup into the main directory, or selectively copy-pasting chunks using tools like mcaselector.

If at all, you should be trying to recover the backups, though since you're running an active server, it is likely that those would've already been overwritten by another write operation elsewhere.

Anyway, since you have a frankestein of different chunks at various times, I guess it's time to get a scalpel (mcaselector or Amulet) and start selectively trying to restore chunk by chunk from your recovered files.

Do all the members in the server save a local copy...?

Yes, until they log off or move out of the area. Otherwise, no.

There are mods that let you dump a server's world data to disk as you encounter them because a server only sends you chunks you can see (why we have a view-distance setting in server.propeties).

However, since it's unlikely your friends are downloading their worlds, you're pretty much out of luck.

It also doesn't make sense for a server to send you the entire world as (for an extreme example), imagine downloading 2TB of data every time you joined 2b2t (2b2t.org).

Imagine taking a week to log into 2b2t (assuming 3MB/s and 2TB), when the queue (even at its worst) only takes 2 days. Also, do you even have 2TB of space left on your main drive, or is it even big enough?

6
  • Call me idiotic, (I don't know Minecraft servers), but why can't you look in recycle bin? Apr 23 at 15:57
  • @LinuxMinecraft I deleted it from the recycle bin too (bad habit). Apr 23 at 23:51
  • Like the answer stated: This is why you backup, Backup, BACKUP!!!! Apr 27 at 20:06
  • You can’t recover it, but you can use WorldEdit on an old backup to restore any lost data.
    – Deer492
    Apr 28 at 18:20
  • you could use some data recovery tool which can scour files deleted in the recycle bin possibly? like cleverfiles.com/recover-deleted-files.html Apr 29 at 15:57

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .