I picked up a Smokepowder Satchel that says it explodes when ignited, damaging everything in the vicinity. Some enemy spells can inflict burning. Will a Smokepowder Satchel explode if a character gets lit on fire while carrying it in their inventory?

Smokepowder Satchel description

  • RAW for most D&D 5E spells that can cause things to catch on fire also explicitly exclude items a creature is wearing or carrying. I would expect BG3 to respect that as well.
    – MBraedley
    Sep 6 at 15:01

1 Answer 1



Your inventory is safe from the environment, and vice versa.

That said, a lit grenade is probably not the best thing to store in your pack, even if you're the only one who's going to suffer for it. But even in such a case, the rest of your items (smokepowder satchels included) are fine.

  • "I wish I had a Bag of Holding". Well, you have a Bag of Inertia, which is a bloody good start :)
    – Joachim
    Sep 5 at 7:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .