What do the item quality character designations mean? What quality is *<*sword*>*, etc?


A full list and description is available at the df wiki.

In order from worst to best, with their additions to item quality:

  • Nothing = 1x
  • - = 2x
  • + = 3x
  • * = 4x
  • ≡ = 5x
  • ☼ = 12x
  • Artifact items, (ones with a unique name) = 10x in the latest version, 120x in 0.28

The page for the previous version is far more detailed, but some information may be out of date.


Item Name — Standart — 1x
-Item Name- — Well-crafted — 2x
+Item Name+ — Finely-crafted — 3x
* Item Name * — Superior quality — 4x
≡Item Name≡ — Exceptional — 5x
☼Item Name☼ — Masterful — 12x
Unique name — Artifact — 12x
«Item Name» — Decorated object — Varies

Decorations have quality levels, too. An item of any quality (except artifacts) can have a decoration of any quality. (There are no artifact quality decorations.) The quality level of a decoration is shown by the same signs (-, +, *, ≡, ☼) just outside the double angle-brackets («,»). Thus, a «+steel battle axe+» is a finely-crafted steel battle axe with superior decorations on it, and a «☼steel battle axe☼» is a masterfully crafted steel battle axe with decorations of standard quality.

Source: dwarffortresswiki

  • If you check the description of an artifact, it always has a number of artifact-quality decorations on it. It's true that you can't add more later, though (or add artifact-quality decorations to anything else). – Brilliand Jun 24 '14 at 15:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.