Vegetable, Demon, Undead, Animal, etc. - does anyone know what ALL of the monster taxa are? I'm working on a Chef skill for brewing and frying chunks of live monsters in combat, damaging them and creating consumables.

You'd think the taxa would be listed at one of the several Dredmor wikis that exist, but it appears not.

1 Answer 1


The valid taxa are:

  • Animal (ie, Diggle)
  • Construct (ie, Golem)
  • Demon (ie, Djinn)
  • Other (ie, Blobby)
  • Undead (ie, Deth)
  • Vegetable (ie, Pumpkinn (and yes, that's how it's spelled.))

I pulled this data from the XML file (monDB.xml) that came with the game, so it should represent all the possible monster types.

  • Weird, I thought one of the talking points of the Diggle God expansion was that it contained 12 new monster types. Well that simplifies things; thanks!
    – Gumbz
    Commented Jan 12, 2012 at 1:16
  • @Gumbz, yes, there are more monster types, but they all fit into these groups.
    – agent86
    Commented Jan 12, 2012 at 1:48

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .