Is there a way to change the difficulty back to normal after you've started a game on nightmare?

3 Answers 3


In order to change the difficulty level back to normal, you have to go to your Character selection screen, select the quest/act and then use the drop down menu in the bottom left hand corner to change the difficulty (re: screenshot).

enter image description here

  • can you change the difficulty from normal to nightmare, i have unlocked it though
    – user42154
    Feb 9, 2013 at 11:45
  1. Go to your character select screen
  2. Select Change Quest
  3. Near the bottom you can change difficulty.

NOTE: Each difficulty has to be unlocked first!

Normal - available by default

Nightmare - Beat all 4 acts and be at least level 30

Hell - Beat all 4 acts on Nightmare and be at least level 50

Inferno - Beat all 4 acts on Hell and be at least level 60


Select "Change Quest" from the Character Menu. At the bottom left of the menu you can change the difficulty.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .