Is the experience gain from the green lore items always the same, or does it vary depending on your level or difficulty setting?

I've noticed the XP gain scales upwards as I progress through the game, but I'm wondering if this is because of my characters level, the area I'm in, or if each lore item has a specific static XP amount attached to it.

1 Answer 1


From what I've found, specific books / lore items have fixed experience values.

Lore items I've missed in Normal, for example, and found in Nightmare still serve up the experience I expect from Normal. At least, if I remember that correctly.

i.e. the Leah journals serve up 120xp, irregardless of level or difficulty, and other lore items you find as you progress have similar fixed values.

I think they were meant to quicken your leveling as you go through Normal and help you establish a better foothold for your character.

  • "Still" - So they only give XP once per character? that makes a lot of sense, thanks May 28, 2012 at 9:32
  • 6
    I may be mistaken, but lore items I've picked up in Normal don't seem to show up in NM anymore. May 28, 2012 at 9:48
  • Some of them can't be found in a single playthrough on Normal, and only spawn when previous books in that area have been read.
    – Alok
    May 28, 2012 at 12:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .