Refers to the main series Pokémon games released on Nintendo DS from 2006 to 2010: Pokémon Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, HeartGold and SoulSilver.

The fourth generation of Pokémon games were released for Nintendo DS between 2006 and 2010, featuring 493 Pokémon (107 new), and a whole new region called Sinnoh. The full list is:

  • Pokémon Diamond
  • Pokémon Pearl
  • Pokémon Platinum
  • Pokémon HeartGold
  • Pokémon SoulSilver

The following games for other platforms also supplement Pokémon fourth generation:

  • Pokémon Battle Revolution (Nintendo Wii)
  • My Pokémon Ranch (Nintendo Wii)

Pokémon Black and White are considered part of a fifth edition of Pokémon games rather than fourth, despite appearing on the same handheld console, as they introduce a full set of new Pokémon.

Pokémon fourth generation is preceded by Pokémon third generation (released on Game Boy Advance) and succeded by Pokémon fifth generation (released on Nintendo DS from 2010 onward).

Pokémon HeartGold and SoulSilver were remakes of second Generation games Pokémon Gold and Silver.