6

I tried to apply X (my pickaxe) diagonally up-left. Unfortunately, I wasn't paying close attention. The apply function was skipped (I guess the 7 key corresponds to Yes) so now I'm in Explore mode. I don't know how to exit Explore mode.

The wiki says "Once in, forever in" but it also says something about keeping the old save file when you restore a game. I don't understand what this means.

I want to play this character through, am I screwed? Is that save file a way to return to normal? If there is a way to get my game back could someone please provide an answer.

I haven't moved since the message "You're now in nonscoring explore mode". Maybe a chance to make bones file, I absorbed 2 bones to get to this point. It would be shame to waste all of that and the time it takes an ARC to get there.

My PC sleeps until I get an answer.

  • 1
    I swear its like this game has an evil side that just waits for that one mistake... – slowball16 Sep 20 '16 at 4:14
  • It might be possible to edit your saved game to turn off explore mode, but I don’t know how. – Lord Harkon Sep 20 '16 at 4:31
  • 2
    The save files live in the playground, and the code to do the saving lives here. Good luck. – Kevin Sep 20 '16 at 5:26
  • 2
    trying to edit save files is a much better way to get "killed by a trickery" than you actually accomplish anything useful. – Wooble Sep 20 '16 at 18:32
  • 2
    Explore mode is simply a bitfield in struct flag, so I think it might be possible to use a hex editor to edit the save file. I'll post an answer if I can get it working. – a spaghetto Sep 21 '16 at 17:26
3

Nope. Sorry, can't be done. Entering both eXplore mode and Wizard mode is permanent.

The mention of the save file is because normally, when you restore a saved game, the save file is deleted so you can't retry and retry (normal for Roguelikes); in Wizard and eXplore mode, you can keep it. This is because those modes are meant, explicitly, for investigating the way the game works, not for playing it, so having a fixed starting point for examining several strategies is useful. But your eXplore status is saved within the save file, so even if you save now and later restore that file, you're still in eXplore mode. And crucially, by now, your previous, non-eXplore save file is lost, so you can't go back to it.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.