If you open a gold or magical chest, it's not uncommon for you to end up with an excess of a particular card, more than you need to upgrade.
Initially, it appeared that if you upgrade, the excess copies are simply lost. Which is a bit annoying, but losing one or two copies of a common card is no big deal.
However, I recently acquired the Minions card for the first time from a Gold chest, and I got quite a number of them. I'm not sure how many but, crucially, I was able to upgrade twice from the one chest drop. So I didn't lose the excess. It's the only time I've upgraded a card where I had enough to upgrade more than one level at once, so I don't know if that was what made the difference.
- What rules govern whether or not you lose excess copies of a card when you upgrade?
- If no-one in your clan is "requesting" copies of a card you have an excess of, is there anything you can do to stop them being wasted when you upgrade?