There are four trophies regarding killing one of every type of Machine in each category. However, there is nowhere in-game that tells you what category each Machine falls under. The most information I've been able to find was in a teaser that introduced a few of the Machines and categorized them.

The teaser categorized the Stormbird and Thunderjaw as Combat-class Machines, the Behemoth as a Transport-class Machine, and the Snapmaw as an Acquisition-class Machine.

I also assume that Watchers and Red-Eye Watchers are Recon-class Machines, for obvious reasons. However, this only covers 6 of the 24 types of Machines, excluding Tallnecks (you can't kill these) and "Corrupted Machines".

The reason I ask is that I managed to go the entire game without killing a single Broadhead, which kept me from getting the "All Acquisition machines killed" trophy, which surprised me, because I didn't realize Broadhead was considered an Acquisition-class Machine (I really don't understand what makes it that, either, but I digress...). That said, which Machines fall under the Acquisition, Combat, Recon, and Transport categories?

  • Acquisition I would imagine would be mostly grazing machines, as they are gathering resources. Transport machines make me think of Shellwalkers.
    – Neon1024
    Mar 9, 2017 at 14:28
  • @DavidYell agreed on acquisition with grazing, but that doesn't explain Snapmaws... also, an argument could also be made that Shell-Walkers are Acquisition since they hoard stuff in their pods, though they're probably Transport, now that you mention it.
    – Vemonus
    Mar 9, 2017 at 14:32
  • Snapmaw is aquisition from the solar panels on it's back perhaps?
    – Neon1024
    Mar 9, 2017 at 14:49
  • I can't find any information or lists detailing this all but many people do seem to be running into a problem with the trophy not being rewarded because corrupted versions of a machine don't count towards the kill count.
    – Virusbomb
    Mar 9, 2017 at 15:19
  • @Virusbomb yeah, I tried super hard to find anywhere that catalogued them, but to no avail. The corrupted machine thing is definitely why I was so confused about having never killed a Broadhead, for the record.
    – Vemonus
    Mar 9, 2017 at 16:04

1 Answer 1


As a start, I'll be compiling the machines per category here. These are gained from various sources around the Internet, as well as my own experience. Some are still as of yet unclassified, as their roles could be considered for multiple classifications.


  • Broadhead
  • Charger
  • Grazer
  • Lancehorn
  • Rockbreaker
  • Scrapper
  • Snapmaw
  • Trampler
  • Glinthawk


  • Watcher
  • Red-eye Watcher
  • Longleg


  • Ravager
  • Thunderjaw
  • Stormbird
  • Sawtooth


  • Shellwalker
  • Fire Bellowback
  • Freeze Bellowback
  • Behemoth
  • Strider

Not Applicable

  • Corrupted Machines
  • Corrupter
  • Deathbringer


  • Stalker

Of course, the easiest way to get all the trophies to pop is to just kill one of each type of machine. As Vemenous mentioned in the OP, corrupted machines do not count towards these trophies.

  • If Deathbringers fall under combat, I would assume Corrupters do as well, considering their origins...
    – Vemonus
    Mar 17, 2017 at 13:51
  • I would agree. At the same time, how do I classify a Glinthawk? They certainly have Recon properties, but are also seen drilling into scrap piles. Same goes for a Stalker and Longleg; are they combat machines, or recon machines (since they have a ping to find you in tall grass) Mar 17, 2017 at 13:54
  • I was actually going to say Stalker seems like a Combat machine. Mostly due to the dartgun it has attached to it, but the cloaking could easily serve a reconnaissance purpose (had to check how to spell that). As for the ping, I want to say there's a third that has that pinger... I seem to remember there being a loading screen tip that mentioned 3 Machines having it.
    – Vemonus
    Mar 17, 2017 at 14:17
  • I believe it's the Ravager, the Longleg, and Stalker. Mar 17, 2017 at 14:20
  • I got "kill all the recon class machines" trophy yesterday after killing my first Longleg, so it seems that it falls under that category, too.
    – pinckerman
    Mar 20, 2017 at 14:28

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .