Mortal Kombat is a hand-to-hand/fighting game released in 2011 for the PS3 and Xbox 360. The ninth in the series, Mortal Kombat returns to its roots, with fights taking place in a two-dimensional plane but with characters and levels rendered in 3D.


Set directly after Mortal Kombat: Armageddon, Mortal Kombat focuses on the earliest period in the series, the trilogy of Mortal Kombat, Mortal Kombat II and Mortal Kombat 3.

The divine protector of Earth, Raiden, attempts to change the events following Armageddon by contacting his past self as he faces defeat at the hands of the evil Shao Kahn.


The game returns to fights taking place in a two-dimensional plane, with characters and levels rendered in 3D.

The game features multiple different modes of play:

  • Story mode, where player plays as multiple characters
  • Fatality training mode
  • "Challenge Tower" mode,
  • Tag-team fighting,
  • Online battle mode.


Mortal Kombat received positive reviews and won several awards for fighting game of the year. It sold more than two million copies in just the first month.

Due to its extremely violent content, the game was banned in Australia and South Korea as well as being indexed in Germany. However, with the introduction of an R18+ rating for games in Australia in February 2013, the ban on the game was lifted, and the game was released there on May 1, 2013.

Mortal Kombat Wiki