8

If you drop sand or gravel block onto a placed torch, it breaks into item version - that is the common knowledge. There is a range of other blocks - I don't remember them all, but rail is definitely an example - dropping sand onto which causes it to break too.

But if I water flows over a torch or a rail, it washes them off, breaking them into items.

Is there any of these items that break sand, that is immune to being washed off by water?

1
  • I haven't played minecraft in a while, but I think pressure plates fit this description.
    – Aran-Fey
    May 18 '17 at 7:58
10

The falling sand breaks when the sand entity reaches a block that stops it. Then it tries to convert into a sand block. This may not be possible if there is already another block at that place - in that case the sand is dropped as item. This means the sand block breaks when it is partially inside another block when it stops falling. So all non-full height blocks will break sand e.g. torches, slabs, pressure plates, enchanting table etc.

Water will break all plants except reeds and cactus and all circuitry blocks + a few others: button, end rod, flower pot, lever, rails, redstone dust, repeaters and comparators, skulls, torches, string, web, and trip wire hook.

Here is an exhaustive list of blocks that fit both criteria:

  • Bed (minecraft:bed)
  • Brewing Stand (minecraft:brewing_stand)
  • Cake (minecraft:cake)
  • Chest (minecraft:chest)
  • Daylight Sensor (minecraft:daylight_detector_inverted)
  • Daylight Sensor (minecraft:daylight_detector)
  • Enchantment Table (minecraft:enchanting_table)
  • End Portal (minecraft:end_portal_frame)
  • Ender Chest (minecraft:ender_chest)
  • Farmland (minecraft:farmland)
  • Grass Path (minecraft:grass_path)
  • Iron Trapdoor (minecraft:iron_trapdoor)
  • Purpur Slab (minecraft:purpur_slab)
  • Red Sandstone Slab (minecraft:stone_slab2)
  • Sugar Cane (minecraft:reeds)
  • Sign (minecraft:wall_sign)
  • Sign (minecraft:standing_sign)
  • Stone Pressure Plate (minecraft:stone_pressure_plate)
  • Stone Slab (minecraft:stone_slab)
  • Trapped Chest (minecraft:trapped_chest)
  • Weighted Pressure Plate (Heavy) (minecraft:heavy_weighted_pressure_plate)
  • Weighted Pressure Plate (Light) (minecraft:light_weighted_pressure_plate)
  • White Banner (minecraft:wall_banner)
  • Wood Slab (minecraft:wooden_slab)
  • Wooden Pressure Plate (minecraft:wooden_pressure_plate)
  • Wooden Trapdoor (minecraft:trapdoor)
3
  • Nice. It seems like signs, being "transparent" to player collisions and not flammable would make the optimal structure of entrance to under-lava chamber immune to being buried with sand.
    – SF.
    May 18 '17 at 9:19
  • I did not know that reeds withstood water...
    – Ben
    May 18 '17 at 10:35
  • " "transparent" to player collisions " The word is "intangible" May 18 '17 at 13:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.